wonder

I am about to head out to see “Wonder Woman” with my family and four of their friends.  I write this before I go so I don’t give anything away.  We love going to the movies together.  Now that our children are out of the Disney Cartoon age, the variety is better for movie night.  Although, we still see most of the Disney movies together.  “Cars 3” is coming out soon!  That will be a family movie for sure.  I can still remember when my now 19 year old was a huge Lightn’ McQueen fan.  He had to have all the cars in the movie to play with.  It was so sweet.

Anyway, I am excited to see “Wonder Woman”!  I have read no comic books about her.  I’ve never been a huge fan of superheroes.  The only comics I used to read were “Archie Comics”. The guys in my family naturally are though and so I have hopped on board.  My youngest son often asks me who are my top three superheroes.  I always say Captain America, Thor and Bumblebee.  Those guys can be my hero anyday.

In the last four years or so, I have had to be strong.  I have had to put myself back together one tiny piece at a time.  I have had to let go of hurts, backstabbing, horrible disappointments and get on with life.  I honestly don’t know how I have made it through except I have had a higher power helping me.  I wish that higher power made me like Wonder Woman, but it has just made me a repurposed woman.  I have taken what was left and made it work.

I am sure I will watch tonight’s movie and be completely jealous and want to be her.  Beautiful, strong and saving the ones she loves.  Hey, we all fall into some fantasy I know.  But I will eventually realize while starting up my care to leave the theatre with my family that in my own non-demi-god way, I am a wonder of a woman.

Leave a Reply

